Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.

sme logo

New categories launched for Women in Finance Awards 2018

wif  entries wif  entries
Reporter 2 minute read

Three new categories have been announced for the Women in Finance Awards 2018, including Small Business Adviser of the Year.

As part of Momentum Media’s continued dedication to the finance industry, The Adviser — in partnership with its sister publications — last year launched the inaugural Women in Finance Awards.


This flagship event returns again this year, once again partnered by NAB, to highlight the outstanding work of women within financial services and put them on a national stage to support the continuing growth and development of women in the financial arena.

A total of 29 awards will recognise individual and group performance, across a range of categories, including Mortgage and Finance Broker of the Year (last year won by Deslie Taylor of Mortgage Choice Ormeau).

This year, three new categories have been added to the roster. These are:

  • Small Business Adviser of the Year, which recognises the finance professional who actively seeks to service and assist small business clients;
  • Professional Development Program of the Year, which honours the business that has established and sustained a development program specifically designed for the training and championing of women within their ranks; and
  • Auditor of the Year, for the auditor who has effectively driven revenue growth and shaped their business’ success in the 2017 calendar year.

Last year’s awards saw several women from the mortgage broking industry take home awards (including Ms Taylor) such as Marissa Schulze of Rise High Financial Solutions (Young Leader of the Year), Tracey Kearey of Home Loan Connexion (Principal of the Year) and CAFBA’s Kathryn Bordonaro (Association Leader of the Year).

Nominations are now open for all categories, so if you know a leading woman (or women) within the financial services sector who is/are leading the way in finance and deserves recognition, then make sure you submit the nomination soon. Alternatively, you can make a submission directly.

The criteria for these submissions require all award entrants to complete a detailed online document, which may include written referrals and additional documentation to support their submission. The submissions will be assessed against specific metrics and business performance parameters to determine the finalists.

Submissions close on 20 July and the winners will be announced at a black-tie event at The Star in Sydney on 20 September 2018.

[Related: Winning women]

New categories launched for Women in Finance Awards 2018
wif  entries
TheAdviser logo
wif  entries
more from the adviser
ANZ CBA ta ANZ, CBA win half of AFG broker lodgements

The two major banks processed half of all home loans lodgements o...

down houses ta Stagnant cash rate shouldn’t deter borrowers: Aggregator heads

While the official cash rate remains on hold, aggregator heads ar...

AFCA new ta AFCA broker complaints drop in the ocean

The number of complaints made to AFCA against all brokers have re...