the adviser logo
Sales & Marketing

ME appoints new chair and directors

by Reporter10 minute read
ME Bank

The non-major bank has announced the addition of a new chair and two directors to its board.

ME Bank appointed Jim Evans as its new chair, as well as Peter Everingham and David Issa as board directors.

Mr Evans has 30 years of experience in banking and financial services, including in financial and risk management areas. He held a number of positions at Commonwealth Bank during his 10-plus year tenure, including chief risk officer of wealth management.

He was also previously the chair of Suncorp Portfolio Services and a non-executive director of Australian Infrastructure Fund and Hastings Fund Management.


The new ME chair currently also holds other roles, such as chair of Pendal Group and its subsidiary JO Hambro Capital Management Holdings, as well as non-executive director of Investa Wholesale Funds Management and ICPF Holdings.

Mr Evans replaces former chair Ken Hodgson who retired from ME’s board on 1 April 2019.

ME chief executive Jamie McPhee thanked the former chair’s long service, saying: “Ken helped guide the bank through a period of considerable change, contributed substantially to our growth, and has been a great support to the other directors and my executive team.”

Mr Everingham, who has more than 25 years of corporate experience, was formerly the managing director of SEEK’s international division, also serving as a non-executive director of SEEK’s education businesses: IDP Education, Online Education Services and THINK Education. He was also chairman of SEEK’s China subsidiary, Zhaopin.

Prior to joining SEEK’s board, he was the director of strategy for Yahoo! in Australia and Southeast Asia.

Meanwhile, Mr Issa carries more than 30 years of experience in the technology, banking and insurance industries, including as CEO of One Big Switch and FiftyUp Club, CEO of Personal Insurance, and CIO at Insurance Australia Group.

He also held senior roles at Westpac, including as CIO of its Institutional Banking Group, program director of Westpac Investing, and CEO of the bank’s software incubator, Qvalent.

“ME has a strong track record of growth and innovation in a competitive industry. The new director appointments extend the depth and breadth of experience on our board, adding digital capability and industry expertise as we work to capitalise on our successes and further our mission to help all Australians get ahead,” Mr McPhee said.

The other five board members include Cheryl Bart, Christine Christian, Greg Combet, John Nesbitt and Elana Rubin.

[Related: Bank CEO backs deferred upfront model]

me bank