Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.

MFAA welcomes new board members

board room office ta board room office ta
Annie Kane 5 minute read

Two brokers have become the newest directors elected to the Mortgage & Finance Association of Australia board.

Following a seven-week nomination and election process, MFAA members have elected two new directors to the board of the broker association.

On Wednesday (20 November), the MFAA held its annual general meeting (AGM) in Sydney, revealing the results of the election.

Brisbane-based broker Caroline Jean-Baptiste – owner of the Mortgage Choice Fortitude Valley franchise and chair of the Mortgage Choice Franchisee Advisory Council – has been elected as a new director of the board, alongside Sydney-based broker Will Foster, director of Foster Finance. Mr Foster also serves on the Combined Industry Forum.


As well as appointing the two new board members, it was also announced that Perth-based broker Rose De Rossi, the director of Diversifi, has been re-elected for a second term.

Following the AGM, the new board of directors met and re-appointed Donna Beazley as chairman of the board, which the association said “ensures continuity in this key position as the MFAA prepares to enter another critical period in 2020”.

Speaking following the board appointments, Ms Beazley said the “great depth of experience and expertise” of the board and the “highly effective executive team” would stand the association in good stead to “meet the challenges that lie ahead”.

The MFAA chairman also revealed that Ms De Rossi had been named deputy chairman of the board, taking over the role from departing director and deputy chair, Melissa Gielnik. 

The Smart Lending director and broker had been a member of the board since 2015 and was made deputy chair of the board in 2017.


Ms Beazley thanked outgoing director and deputy chairman Ms Gielnik “for her service to the MFAA and the industry”.

She particularly noted that Ms Gielnik had “dedicated a significant amount of her time to the MFAA in helping to steer the organisation through what has been a challenging period for our industry and for which we are most grateful”.

Six of the eight members are now actively practicing brokers. MFAA CEO Mike Felton welcomed the new members and said that he looked forward to working with the board.

The new MFAA board of directors comprises:

  • Donna Beazley (broker, Oxygen Home Loans)
  • Will Foster (director, Foster Finance)
  • Mark Haron (executive director, Connective)
  • Kathryn Harrison (franchise owner, Smartline Personal Mortgage Advisers Stafford)
  • Caroline Jean-Baptiste (franchise owner, Mortgage Choice Fortitude Valley)
  • Vladimir Malcik (managing director, Praxtra) 
  • Rose De Rossi (director, Diversifi)
  • Sarah Wells (director, Sarah Wells Tailored Banking & Finance Solutions).

[Related: Aggregator head joins MFAA board]

MFAA welcomes new board members
board room office ta
TheAdviser logo

Are you a new-to-industry broker in the process of growing your business? Then there’s some great news: The Adviser’s New Broker Academy is back in 2021 and will provide you with essential insights into cutting-edge tools, strategies and processes to fast-track to success. Don’t miss your chance to attend. To secure your FREE place, visit newbroker.com.au now!

board room office ta
Annie Kane

Annie Kane

Annie Kane is the editor of The Adviser and Mortgage Business.

As well as writing about the Australian broking industry, the mortgage market, financial regulation, fintechs and the wider lending landscape – Annie is also the host of the Elite Broker and In Focus podcasts and The Adviser Live webcasts. 

Email Annie at: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



more from the adviser
Sydney Sydney mayor launches business support, calls for JobKeeper

Sydney’s mayor has urged the federal government to resurrect Jo...

mortgage payments money Banks accused of bias against BNPL in lending process

An executive from buy now, pay later provider Zip has echoed repo...

Brisbane bridge sunset ta Expect Olympics-fuelled growth in Qld, says broker

South-East Queensland can expect a spike in residential and comme...