Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.

FBAA announces 2019 state leaders

leaders team ta leaders team ta
Reporter 4 minute read

The broking industry association has named its state presidents and councillors for the coming year.

The Finance Brokers Association of Australia (FBAA) has revealed its state presidents and councillors for 2019, ahead of its annual national conference on Queensland’s Gold Coast.

CEO of First Start Mortgage Company Felicity Heffernan has been elected as the FBAA’s NSW and ACT president.

Regional executive officer of Outsource Financial Brendon Kurtz has been re-elected as state president of FBAA Victoria and Tasmania.


Christine Green, network sales manager at Liberty Financial, has also been re-elected, and she will continue serving as state president of Queensland and the Northern Territory for the fourth year.

Owner of Finance Opportunities and FBAA South Australia state president Joff O’Shannessy will also continue in his role for the fifth consecutive year.

Further, head of lending and advisory at Provident Business and Lending Solutions Trent Carter has been reappointed as FBAA state president of Western Australia. He has said that he is aiming to have wider reach across the local industry by having council representatives from residential, commercial, asset, regional, licence holders and “new to industry” members.

Commenting on the appointments, FBAA managing director Peter White said: “This new team consists of champions and advocates of the finance broking sector, inspiring brokers around the country.”

Moreover, the FBAA has named its 2019 state councillors:


  •  Queensland/Northern Territory – Bruno Klos, Graham Dossel, David Randall, Amarpreet Kaur Virk, Angelo Lauro, Neil Hart and Maree Blakemore
  •  NSW/ACT – Miro Marinkovic, Greg Hart, Vache Vartanian, Matt Attia, Nicholas Wormald, Janel McClelland and Rocco Massaria
  •  Victoria/Tasmania – Olive Carrington, Sadish Visvalingam, Kim Fang Chen Wen, Kirsty Dunphey (Tas), Emmanuel Guingard, Bernard Desmond and Hari Maragos
  •  South Australia – Kym Russell and Richard Foggo
  •  Western Australia – Nicole Kennedy, Yania Busch and Mary Kowalski

[Related: FBAA warns RC over further disclosure on remuneration]

FBAA announces 2019 state leaders
leaders team ta
TheAdviser logo

If you’re feeling overworked and overwhelmed in this fast-paced mortgage market, it’s time to make some changes, and the Business Accelerator Program can help! Tickets are on sale now. Work smarter, not harder, this year.

leaders team ta


more from the adviser
Greater Bank Newcastle Perm merger

Breaking News

Bank CEO pledges to maintain broker offering following merger

The CEO of Newcastle Permanent has said the lender will continue ...

Money jar

Breaking News

bcu launches $5k cashback offer

The customer-owned bank has released a cashback offer for new and...


Breaking News

RBA makes cash rate call as lockdown drags on

The central bank has delivered its rate decision for August as th...